The Executive Branch

This branch is devoted to administering the daily operations of the organization and formally overseeing the Legislative Branch.


The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch consists of twenty-three senators: fifteen senators-at-large representing the student body and eight collegiate senators. The Senate passes bills and allocates funds to students and/or student organizations for University related projects, events, or travels. Senators also begin initiatives called “Special Projects” to solve the issues that students have been experiencing on campus. Legislative tasks are also divided among a large number of committees, which represent the issues affecting student body. Aside from Special Projects, all Senators must take an active role in the Ad-Hoc and/or Standing Committees established through the Student Government Association (Appropriations, Student Application Review Committee, Document Review Committee, Excel Committee, and Student Open Assembly Committee).

The Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is the portion of the Student Government Association that decides cases arising from the student community. This branch is supervised by the Attorney General and separates into two different sub parts of the Judicial Branch: The Supreme Court Justices and the Traffic Court Justices. Supreme Court Justices moderate the balance between the Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch while also attending hearings in regards to elections during campaign weeks. The Traffic Court provides the opportunity for students to appeal their parking ticket citations in a moderated and organized manner. The Traffic Court is made up of public defenders, prosecutors, a judicial assistant and four justices that decide on the verdict of a student appeal.