Good Neighbor Scholarship

The Good Neighbor Scholarship (GNS) Program is designed to encourage academically talented students from the countries of the Western (American) hemisphere (other than Cuba and the U.S.)  to pursue higher education in the State of Texas, thus establishing a beneficial link between the State of Texas and the home country of the students.


The Good Neighbor Scholarship provides an exemption from the payment of tuition (not fees) for the 12-month period beginning with the fall semester following selection as a scholarship recipient.


  • Applicants must have resided in the Western (American) Hemisphere for a period of at least five years.
  • Applicants cannot be members of the Communist Party.
  • Applicants cannot have applied for Permanent Resident status in the US, or have dual citizenship that includes the U.S.
  • Applicants must be enrolled in a UT El Paso program and maintaining satisfactory academic progress toward a UT El Paso degree.
  • Applicants must be a bona fide native-born citizen and resident of an eligible country.


Eligible Countries (Independent nations located in Western Hemisphere)
Argentina Dominica Panama
Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay
Bahamas Ecuador Peru
Barbados El Salvador Saint Kitts & Nevis
Bolivia Grenada St. Lucia
Brazil Guatemala St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Belize (British Honduras) Guyana Suriname
Canada Haiti Trinidad and Tobago
Chile Honduras Uruguay
Colombia Jamaica Venezuela
Costa Rica Mexico


Western Hemisphere Countries Ineligible by Statute
Anguilla (territory of United Kingdom)
Aruba (Part of Kingdom of the Netherlands)
Bouvet Island (Norwegian dependency)
Cayman Islands (British administration)
Clipperton Islands (possession of France)
Cuba (ineligible by statute)
Faulkland Islands (Great Britain)
French Guiana (French Overseas Department)
Guadeloupe (Department of France)
Montserrat (Overseas territory of the United Kingdom)
Netherland Antilles (Autonomous territory of the Netherlands)
St. Helena (British colony)
St. Pierre & Miquelon (Self-governing territorial collectivity of France)
S. Georgia & S. Sandwich Islands (British Administration)
Turks & Caicos Islands (British Overseas territory)


 Application will be available February 2018